Pool Church is dedicated to St, Wilfrid, the Patron Saint of Ripon. The Will of William Smythe of Pool, written in 1538, proves that the original dedication was to St Swithin.
Christianity arrived early in this part of Yorkshire due to the influence of Ripon and St. Wilfrid. Otley became the centre of Christianity in Wharfedale and was the property of the Archbishop. Otley Parish Church was to remain the mother church of Pool for a thousand years.
"Pouele" (Pool) is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1087 as part of the Liberty of Otley held by the Archbishop. He was Lord of the Manor of Pool. Probably a "cell" was erected in the village. The religious houses of Fountains and Bolton influenced the village, while the Monks of Kirkstall and the Nuns of Arthington held land here. In the sixteenth century we discover evidence of clergy working in the village.
It is suggested that the old chapel was built prior to 1649. In 1840 the chapel was rebuilt with extensions, including the tower and clock. In 1890-91 the Apse was built.
Hayfield House, Strait Lane, Huby, LEEDS,LS17 0EA
Associate Priest: Vacant
The Vicarage, Old Pool Bank, Pool-in-Wharfedale, LS21 1EJ
Tel: 0113 3187587,
Lay Reader: Moira Keith,
Tel: 0113 2842704, e-mail: moirakeith@talktalk
Benefice Administrator: Julie Clegg
Tel: 01423 733341, e-mail; email@example.com
Eucharistic Ministers licensed by the Bishop:
Jean Radley, Susan Ford and Helen Pratten
Susan Ford 0113 2842386
Gordon Radley 0113 2842385